The Adventure Continues Day 3

Posted: March 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m finding it hard to write this entry because the world and his wife want to speak to me on Facebook. So this is being written between conversations. Not ideal but don’t want to be rude to them.

Anyway the day started with an awesome breakfast and then picked up by Hans at 9.15, I requested to be picked up at this time which might seem crazy but if lay in for too long I become more tired than before.

We arrived at the Hot and I practised playing the guitar for something which might happen but I’ll tell you about that tomorrow if I can.

The day properly kicked off today at around 11.30 when some young people came over in their break time to see me and the rest of the team. Today I was transformed into a youth worked just chilling and mingling with the young people. Playing games and entertaining them with my lack of german. This sort of thing carried on pretty much all day. There were many moments of the day that were real heart-felt moments and really made me examine my life. I want to tell you about three of them.

The first was the little boy I have made friends with this week called Pascal. He is 10 and neither speaks or understands english. He is the cutest person I have ever met!!! We don’t understand each others language but we do understand each other. It’s awesomely weird. For about 2 hours we did everything together. From playing Yahtzee, to DJing or even just sitting for around 30 mins pulling funny faces at each other. The greatest part of this story so far was when the team and I were eating lunch. He was sat on the next table to us on his own and i thought to myself why isn’t he being included so said to him in our own little sign language would you like to come and eat with us?? Immediately his face lit up!!!! I quickly grabbed him a chair and had him come and sit with us. He then enjoyed what seemed to be to him the best pasta and Bolognese he had ever tasted. I am actually welling up just thinking about this little boy and the great joy I saw in his face at that moment. I would almost go as far as to say that it would be worth me coming to germany purely for that moment. You could take the DJing and all the “hey look at that cool DJ” all for that moment of happiness in that little boys life. Wow that got more emotional than I thought it was going to.

The second was a great conversation i was able to have with a 15-year-old Muslim boy called Jucha. His dad is a leader in the local Muslim community and because of this we were able to have a great in-depth chat about what it means to be a Muslim and what it means to be a Christian. We talked over the ideas of Grace, forgiveness and repentance. It was a great chat and I am hoping we will be able to talk more as the week goes on.

The third is a tragic story of how I was hustled by two 11-year-old boys at a game of poker. I am fairly good at poker and am good at maths so can work out percentages and probability of cards coming up. These two boys didn’t need any of that they just whipped me and then wiped the floor with me!!! I didn’t even see it coming. I ended the game going out whilst having a full house with Kings and Queens a flippin good hand and only beatable by about four cards in the pack. So i go all in and one of the boys calls, he lays his cards down and he has Aces and Queens!!!!!! Unbelievable!!!!! So I never heard the last of that.

This evening the bible group that meets at the Hot had a barbecue for dinner so I joined them for that. It was lovely and german barbies are awesome.

Tomorrow the festival really starts. I am DJing in a school for their lunch period, that will be awesome to raise the profile of the festival and hopefully some people will come off of the back of that. Then Jesus House kicks off live on TV from 7.50. I think the night will be a great time and I hope I am able to pray with some young people.

Stay tuned in to find out how Day 4 goes.

Big Love

Leave a comment