The Adventure Keeps On Trucking Day 5

Posted: April 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

Firstly I would like to thank all who have written messages to me today. I’m afraid Ann you will be the most disappointed and you will find out why a little later. All of your messages have lifted me today and I have been in a much more chipper today than i was feeling last night.

So I woke up this morning, looked out of the window and saw it was raining!!!! Rain = no busking today!!!! Sorry to disappoint Ann but it will be on tomorrow I have been assured by Hans. I’m not sure wether he will stop the rain himself or construct some sort of marquee to cover me while I’m outside?? He is german and very efficient.

The Day kicked off with another awesome breakfast and then off to the electrical store where Hans insisted on getting me a new memory stick as mine broke yesterday. Whilst sitting outside the store waiting for it to open we got chatting about the biggest challenges he faces with discipling his young volunteers. I won’t go into it now because I am aware that some of them are reading this. That conversation led onto chatting about “More to Life” and the idea that “changed lives authenticate the message of Jesus”. This was interesting to him and we changed our plans for the morning after that so we could chat for a couple of hours about the training and then started dreaming about other things which I won’t go into now because I should probably chat to my bosses before putting it on my blog.

After that we went to the Hot where lunch was being prepared. A guy called Aljo told me he hated me because I didn’t put him in my blog so now I have (Aljo was the first and last person to get in my blog through asking!! I don’t want this to end up like signing of autographs because i might need a whole team of people on it!!!!) Fro lunch I had this top notch soup stuff with what I can only describe as two giant tortellini. I taste awesome tho. Then a young lad called Julian (not King Julian!!!) came in and we got chatting even though both of our opposite language was pretty bad. I beat him at FIFA 11, then demolished him at Kicker. Just to clarify Kicker is the german name for Fussball or table football. He was fairly distraught but you learn nothing through winning all the time!!! After that some of his mates came in and I was able to start up a conversation about Jesus out of nowhere which was cool. Marco a youth volunteer translated.The conversation pretty much started because I started talking about 1 of their rosaries. I asked them if they knew what it meant and what it represents and they did. I asked them if they knew how brutal it was?? and they said no, so when i asked if they would like to see a short film about it they were very up for it. I showed them part of the bbc passion clip of Jesus being crucified and then they had more question to ask. They were very grateful of me being able to explain about it to them.

This evening was the second installment of the broadcast about Faith or trust. The guy talked about how we can trust God because he became human to reach out to us. He talked about that in order to be able to trust someone you need to be able to give them a chance to prove they can be trusted. It was again just ok but could have been better I think. Again I played some songs before and led a time of sung worship after the broadcast. I could really feel God was moving in that place tonight.

The adventure usually stops there but tonight I have been into Bochum with some of the guys for a drink and something to eat. We went to a cool bar called Three Sixty. The beer was great and the pizza was huge. The company was great too I spent most of my night chatting to and getting to know Tine and Jule.

I Love Germany!!!!

Thanks for reading and if you want to share this with someone to encourage them or just because they might be interested please do.

Please keep messages coming they are a real help.

It’s 2.15 here and I am falling asleep writing this!!!!

Chat to everyone soon.

Big Love

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    Funny about the busking – somehow I misunderstood and thought it was friday you were doing it anyway, and was praying for you when I woke up this morning! No doubt you’ve had another massive breakfast to get you going. I won’t be able to catch up on the rest of your news (boo, hoo) as I’m off on hols tonight (yay, hay)

    • samlaroche72 says:

      I didn’t have breakfast this morning as I was sooooooo full from the flippin huge pizza last night!!!
      Have a great Holiday.
      Big Love

  2. Becca says:

    HAPPY JULIANUARY!

    Sounds like you’re having an awesome time! I miss Hans & the B&B! Praying for you lovely, say hallo to everyone for me šŸ™‚

    xx

  3. Andy C says:

    All that you’re doing sounds amazing!!! God is clearly using you to bless others and speak into their lives. We had a great retreat day yesterday, Karen and Claire put so much into organising it. After an amusing DVD intro they had us driving around the local area (Hadleigh Castle, Hockley Woods…) looking up verses for clues and generally having fun together (although Si pulled his hamstring and had to go home) finishing the day at Rayleigh Baptist with teaching and communion led by Mark Massey.

    We of course prayed for you as we do every day and trust that God will use you even more and give you all the strength, energy and insight you need to see you through the last part of your time there. Keep looking to Him for all that you need.

    • samlaroche72 says:

      Thank you Mate
      Your comments have been greatly appreciated!!
      Sometimes kept me going!!
      Hope all is well and will see you next week
      Big Love

  4. Mate, this is so amazing. Could you have ever imagined doing any of this when you woke up on that park bench a few years ago?!?!?! GOD is so incredible how He lifts us out of the darkest places and uses us to be a beacon of light in ways and places we could never have thought of!

    ps I love the part in this blog where you say ‘I taste awesome tho’ !! (4th para) How hungry were you?!?

    • samlaroche72 says:

      Lol thanks buddy!!
      I was pretty much falling asleep when writing it.
      I hope your hamstring gets better!!
      Big Love

Leave a comment